About


Photography has accompanied Fabian Boreck since childhood and is an important balance to his profession as a cellist in his free time.

He publishes his photographs under the artist's name Fabian Maximilian.

 

With a Certo Super Dollina II (ca. 1950s), he learned the basic photographic skills and techniques as well as the feeling for image composition. Nature and landscape always played a special role.

Since 2012, he mainly photographs the landscapes of Germany as well as animals and architecture from time to time.

 

Working with the Super Dollina II, which is now about 70 years old and still in use, has had a significant influence on the way he works with digital photography today: His aim is always to take a maximum of one to two shots of each motif on location, through careful and considered procedures. These are then finished at home with as little digital processing as possible.

By consciously reducing the amount of work on location as well as in post-processing, he wants to retain the sense of photography as a craft consisting of knowledge, experience and skill, despite the countless digital possibilities.

 

The technology used is the Olympus OM-D E-M5 Mark III with high-speed focal lengths from 15 to 600 mm (equiv. 35mm format); plus high-quality optical filters from Formatt-Hitech and B+W Schneider-Kreuznach. In addition, he uses the previously mentioned Certo Super Dollina II (Carl Zeiss Jena Tessar 50/2.8) and a Certo Six (6x6 medium format from the 1950s with Carl Zeiss Jena Tessar 80/2.8) with Kodak Ektar 100 and Fuji Provia 100.

Über ihn


Die Fotografie begleitet Fabian Boreck bereits seit der Kindheit und bildet in seiner Freizeit einen wichtigen Ausgleich zu seinem Beruf als Cellist.

Fotografien veröffentlicht er dabei unter dem Künstlernamen Fabian Maximilian.

 

Mit einer Certo Super Dollina II (ca. 50er Jahre) lernte er die fotografischen Grundkenntnisse und –techniken sowie das Gespür für die Bildgestaltung kennen. Dabei spielten Natur und Landschaft schon immer eine besondere Rolle.

Seit 2012 fotografiert er vorwiegend die Landschaften Deutschlands sowie gelegentlich Tiere und Architektur.

 

Die Arbeit mit der, mittlerweile ca. 70 Jahre alten und immer noch in Benutzung befindlichen, Super Dollina II hat seine heutige Arbeitsweise mit der digitalen Fotografie maßgeblich beeinflusst: Sein Bestreben ist es, durch sorgfältiges und überlegtes vorgehen vor Ort, von jedem Motiv möglichst nur ein bis zwei Aufnahmen zu machen. Diese werden zu Hause so geringfügig wie möglich durch digitale Bearbeitung zu Ende geführt.

Durch die bewusste Reduzierung vor Ort wie auch in der Nachbearbeitung, möchte er sich, trotz der unzähligen digitalen Möglichkeiten, den Sinn der Fotografie als ein Handwerk, bestehend aus Wissen, Erfahrung und Können, beibehalten.

 

Als Technik kommt die Olympus OM–D E–M5 Mark III mit lichtstarken Brennweiten von 15 bis 600 mm (KB) zum Einsatz; dazu hochwertige optische Filter von Formatt–Hitech und B+W Schneider–Kreuznach. Analog nutzt er außerdem die bereits erwähnte Certo Super Dollina II (Carl Zeiss Jena Tessar 50/2.8) und eine Certo Six (6x6 Mittelformat aus den 50er Jahren, Carl Zeiss Jena Tessar 80/2.8) mit Kodak Ektar 100 und Fuji Provia 100.